展覽回顧

TOUCH CERAMICS

夏日器影

2021.08.03 - 2021.08.29

藝術家策展人-鍾雯婷

玻璃、釉與白瓷,三條平行思維卻有著相似的魅力與韻味。

「夏日器影」展,是Touch Ceramics首次展出玻璃作品,我們企圖跳脫工藝分野與界限來交錯創造更多可能,並且聚焦於藝術家思維與作品的本質。本次展覽邀請了日本玻璃藝術家靏林舞美(Tsurubayashi Maimi)、陶藝家大谷祐里枝(Otani Yurie)丶以及台灣的鍾雯婷(Chung Wen-ting),三位藝術家以不同材質與獨自的技藝,呈現了轉化傳統技法後,昇華視覺美與當代工藝表現。

 

玻璃吹製與陶瓷的製作過程,經過炙熱的火焰與燒成,然而經過藝術家的雙手與感性,呈現療癒與解暑的平靜狀態。柔軟之線條、具有透明感的器物,讓作品成為夏日最適合的棲地。一杯夏夜的冷酒、清涼的飲料甜點、清爽的消暑沙拉,抑或是清新的夏花,三位藝術家的器物不只豐富了夏天色彩,更隱藏了我們對夏日的期待。

 

玻璃、釉與白瓷,三位作家思維錯落彼地,在作品上追逐變幻的光與色彩,穿越光線的器物,以各自獨特的感性繪出低調而華麗的景色,砌成一道溫柔的影子。這些光影彷彿紀錄下某個時光片段的空氣感,留下了空間讓我們與其細讀與共存。

CURRENT EXHIBITION IN THE HOUSE

TOUCH CERAMICS

A Shadow in Summer

2021.08.03 - 2021.08.29

Artist and Curator, Chung Wen-ting

 

Glass, glaze and white porcelain, are the three non-intertwining yet vibing materials. 

 

“A Shadow in Summer'' is the debut exhibition that showcases artworks of glass at Touch Ceramics. We attempt to cross the boundaries and categorization of craft, devising more possibilities while shedding light on the artists' thinking process and the artworks' intrinsic qualities. This exhibition invited the Japanese glass artist Tsurubayashi Maimi, the ceramic artist Otani Yurie, and the Taiwanese artist Chung Wen-ting. With their respective choice of materials and craftsmanship, their artworks demonstrate how they revolutionized the conventional techniques and further sublimated the visual allure and contemporary art-making approach.

 

The process of glass blowing and ceramic production is made with burning flames. Yet, the artists' sensuous handling enables those works to reveal a tranquil state that calms and cools. The supple lines and the lucid materials both contribute to making the featured artworks the best-fitted habitat in summer. It resembles a glass of chill wine, refreshing drinks, pastries and salad, or rejuvenating summer flowers... The artworks of the three artists not only brushed up the colours of summer times but also withheld our expectations for summer.  

 

The glass, glaze and white porcelain artists seek after the penetrating and ever-changing light and shadows which illustrate a subtle yet sumptuous scenery that composed a gentle shade. These light and shadows appear to have captured the airy space of a particular moment, providing rooms for us to scrutinize and coexist.