如系 - 鄭哈雷 

2022.07.06 - 2022.07.31


展序​

從某天起,腦內殘影及日常觸碰到的事物,都在緩慢流動着。它們活在相近的色調,雖然沒有激烈變化,卻悄悄地進行一場自我分解的儀式。在平和的聲音中散落及飄流;從此,物件固有的面貌變得模糊及不確定。虛實之間似遠還近,當中存在著微細隙縫,隱約意會到點滴碎片。分解的原因或許是內外共同所引發,最終面貌亦無法預知,但變化過程卻牽絆著絲絲情緒,令人絮絮尋味。 

 

藝術家鄭哈雷以繪畫手法把碎片化時代刻劃於畫布上。我們每天接收着大量零碎的資訊,生活也被疫情打散得七零八落,使獨立個體性更加明顯。物件及思緖都好像由無數斷層零塊所組合。藝術家選取塑膠彩作為媒介,運用其相對硬調子的特質,製造出由複雜色塊面達到曖昧的形態 。同時竟帶點後現代美學特徵。

 

鄭哈雷這系列作品的主題圍繞生活中被遺忘的瑣碎事與物, 他往往被它們勾起特別的思緒。可能是地上報紙的一角,甚至是挪威小鎮的一個雜物房;都引起鄭氏對外界的思考或投射。作品顯示出平凡事物的審視,其實更能看清事實的內容。雖然很多看似微不足道的東西只是靜靜地存在,但它們也許是豐富內心和社會的關鍵。

 

運用微末事物去道出更大議題的敘事手法,在銓釋上與法國哲學家李歐塔(Jean-Francois Lyotard)的「小敍事」理論(petits recits)有共同面向。 鄭氏的繪畫方式,不一定是在敍述一件具體的事情,但更著重敍與事之間的整合關係。李歐塔曾言:「藝術並不是真理的生發場,而是不確定性的見証者。」鄭哈雷同樣以介乎具像與抽象之間的繪畫方式,開放作品內容的可能性及流動性 。呈現出現象世界直接的東西,同樣帶著其意識形態。

同場展出另一本地藝術家莫鎧靖的3D打印陶瓷作品。莫氏透過現代科技結合傳統陶藝,發展出結構性的陶瓷雕塑。 展覽中兩位藝術家以不同媒介:一個將物件有機地分解,一個則機巧邏輯地組合。概念上看似南轅北轍,其實也是藝術創作中感性和理性取向的兩端。

 

策展人陳瑞琦

Pieces of Pieces - Cheng Halley

2022.07.06 - 2022.07.31​

Exhibition Statement

Since that day, the images in head and the things that come across have started flowing slowly. They exist within similar colour tone; while there is no sign of dramatic change, the process of self-decomposition is proceeding harmoniously. As things scatter and drift amid voices of serenity, their appearance has also become ambiguous and uncertain. Within the chasm between abstraction and figuration, fine cracks appear, revealing fragments. Such decomposition might have resulted from the resonance of the inside and outside, while one cannot predict its final appearance, its transformation process has left behind a trail of ambivalence.

 

Artist Halley Cheng depicts fragments of an era into his paintings. Each day, we are bombarded with fragmented information, and our lives have been turned upside down by the pandemic, which in turn highlights the importance of individuality. The physical and emotional world in which we live is like a composite created by integrating countless fractures. In Halley's acrylic paintings, he uses the medium's relatively rigid characteristics to create ambiguous forms with multicolored layers, while embracing the aesthetics of postmodernism.

 

Halley's series of works are inspired by the trivial and obscure things we encounter every day, which stir his emotions. Whether it is a section of a newspaper on the floor or a storeroom in a small Norwegian town, anything can inspire the artist to reflect on and project to the outside world. Through commentary on ordinary things, Halley's works reflect clarity of vision in reality. It is the mundane things in life, despite their obscure presence, that are perhaps the quintessence of enriching the mind and society.

 

The use of trivial things to channel greater narratives is consistent with Jean-Francois Lyotard's notion of petits récits (petit narratives). Halley's paintings do not necessarily narrate a subject matter, but rather retell the story of the relationship between things. As Lyotard states, ‘ Art need not represent reality properly…art would be that taking place of a self-enclosed event that withstands interpretation.’  Halley's work prompts the possibility and fluidity of interpretation with painting that straddles figuration and abstraction. Consequently, a thing that is directly represented could also be conscious of itself in the realm of phenomenology.

As part of the exhibition, local artist Silvester Mok will display ceramic works created using 3D-printing technology. In the marriage of modern technology and conventional ceramic methods, he creates structurally unique ceramic sculptures. In this exhibition, both artists have employed two distinctive creative approaches: one disintegrates objects organically, and the other combines objects with intelligence and logic. Conceptually, both of them might seem irrelevant from each other, nevertheless, they also represent two opposing forces that we encounter when we create art: the perceptual and the rational.

 

Curator Shirky Chan